The Cosy Teashop in the Castle by Caroline Roberts

 

image

Can Ellie bake her way to a happy ever after? A deliciously heartwarming novel for fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson.

Can Ellie bake her way to a happy ever after? A deliciously heartwarming novel for fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson.

When Ellie Hall lands her dream job running the little teashop in the beautiful but crumbling Claverham Castle, it’s the perfect escape from her humdrum job in the city. Life is definitely on the rise as Ellie replaces spreadsheets for scones, and continues her Nanna’s brilliant baking legacy.

When Lord Henry, the stick-in-the-mud owner, threatens to burst her baking bubble with his old-fashioned ways, Ellie wonders if she might have bitten off more than she can chew. But cupcake by cupcake she wins the locals over, including teashop stalwart, Doris, and Ellie’s showstopping bakes look set to go down in castle history!

Now all that’s missing in Ellie’s life is a slice of romance – can Joe, the brooding estate manager, be the one to put the cherry on the top of Ellie’s dream?

If you enjoy Jenny Colgan novels, then you are in for a delicious treat with this Caroline Roberts novel !

This novel flows really well from the very first page to the last page. It is very modern and down to earth , very much like the characters.

For some reason Ellie and Joe’s chemistry at the beginning reminded me of Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey, I think it was how Joe came across as very business like and Ellie seemed timid. So throughout the novel this is who I pictured for Joe and Ellie. This book is not to be compared to Fifty Shades of Grey though, it is a totally different genre and much more classy, although there were some very saucy sex parts (I am blushing as I write this now !)

I did correctly predict one part of the novel though but I am not going to give anything away about that ! I really enjoyed reading this and would find myself wandering what Ellie and Joe were up to , they felt that real to me – I had to remind myself that they were fictional characters !

Caroline Roberts has lots of potential and I could see a whole series of books based around the castle and the characters, I for one would love this.

Advertisements

Making It Up As I Go Along by Marian Keyes

image

Welcome to the magnificent Making It Up as I Go Along – aka the World According to Marian Keyes™ – A bold, brilliant book bursting with Marian’s hilarious and heartfelt observations on modern life, love and much, much else besides.

Such as? you are determined to ask.

Well, how about her guide to breaking up with your hairdresser? Or the warning she has for us all after a particularly traumatic fling with fake tan. There’s the pure and bounteous joy of the nail varnish museum. Not to mention the very best lies to tell if you find yourself on an Artic Cruise. She has words of advice for those fast approaching fifty. And she’s here to tell you the secret  secret truth about writers – well, this one anyway.

This book is a wonderfully, refreshing insight to Marian Keyes and her life. I really felt like I got to know Marian and himself (Marian’s husband) whilst reading this book.

I loved how Marian gave her honest opinion on everything she wrote about – especially the hairdressers part and how to break up with your hairdresser. Marian hit the nail on the head when she wrote about how “hair saloons are snakepits, hotbeds of bitchiness” , I used to work in a hair salon and was glad to escape.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading all about the places Marian had travelled to, I now want to go on an Artic Cruise.

This book is like an autobiography but without the boring bits , you know the parts of an autobiography about the persons family history – that if truth be told you skip those parts because you only want to read about the author. I highly recommend this and would like to thank Net Galley and Penguin Uk for giving me the chance to read and review it.

 

The Little Shop of Happy-Ever-After by Jenny Colgan.

Given a back-room computer job when the beloved Birmingham library she works in turns into a downsized retail complex, Nina misses her old role terribly – dealing with people, greeting her regulars, making sure everyone gets the right books for their needs. Then a new business nobody else wants catches her eye: owning a tiny little bookshop bus up in the Scottish highlands. No computers. Shortages. Out all hours in the freezing cold; driving with a tiny stock of books… not to mention how the little community is going to take to her, particularly when she stalls the bus on a level crossing…

I didn’t like this book …… I LOVED IT !

This book was amazing , I could totally relate to Nina, being the bookworm that I am. The part about how her brothers used to tease Nina for reading so much, that was me being teased by my sisters when I was younger and they still don’t understand my love of reading to this day, although I do think they would understand if they read this book.

This book was so easy to get into and the storyline flowed so well, I found myself envying Nina when she started the book van, I would love to do something like this ….. Maybe one day I will. This book is about following your dreams and your heart.

The characters in this book were really well written and easy to remember who was who. I especially liked the reference about a woman who ran a bakery from a van at the beginning (Polly!).All the settings in this book were well described so that I could envision them.

Wel done Jenny on another excellent book, I hope to read more about Nina in a sequel ?

image