Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

image

It’s Christmas in the Cornish coastal village of Mount Polbearne – a time for family, friends and feasting.

Polly Waterford loves running the Little Beach Street Bakery. She’s at her happiest when she’s creating delicious treats and the festive season always inspires her to bake and knead something extra special for the village residents. In fact, the only thing she loves more than her bakery is curling up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Huckle. She’s determined that this Christmas is going to be their best one yet, but life doesn’t always work out as planned..

When Polly’s best friend Kerensa turns up with a secret that threatens the life Polly and Huckle have built together, the future begins to look uncertain. And then a face from Polly’s past reappears and things become even more complicated. Polly can usually find solace in baking but she has a feeling that’s not going to be enough this time. Can she get things back on track so that everyone has a merry Christmas?

Christmas isn’t Christmas without a Jenny Colgan Christmas book. I was so excited to see this on Netgalley and even more excited to be accepted to read and review , so here is my honest review.

The cover is absolutely delightful, it gleams with all things festive.

I love it how at the beginning Jenny gives a quick recap of the story so far, so even if you hadn’t yet read the other Beach Street Bakery books (you don’t know what you’re missing)  you would soon get the gist of things.

It was so nice to be reunited with Polly, Huckle, Neil and gang, they are all like old friends by now, I was saddened to read at the beginning that this may be the last of the Beach Street Bakery books, so I felt like I needed to savour every page of this one. There were even a few new characters , that fitted in very well.

The story was a real roller coaster of emotions for Polly and Kerensa. It was nice to get to know Kerensa a bit more and get more of an insight into Polly’s past.I especially loved the part where Polly was in her childhood bedroom and it mentioned the Leonardo Dicaprio Poster , that I could relate to from my childhood, I mean who didn’t have a crush on Leonardo Dicaprio ? The whole story was truly captivating and totally unpredictable. The recipes at the end are always a great touch to Jenny’s books.

 

The Plumberry School of Comfort Food By Cathy Bramley.

image

Verity Bloom hasn’t been interested in cooking anything more complicated than the perfect fish finger sandwich, ever since she lost her best friend and baking companion two years ago.

But an opportunity to help a friend lands her right back in the heart of the kitchen.  The Plumberry School of Comfort Food is due to open in a few weeks’ time and needs the kind of great ideas that only Verity could cook up. And with new friendships bubbling and a sprinkling of romance in the mix, Verity finally begins to feel like she’s home. 

But when tragedy strikes at the very heart of the cookery school, can Verity find the magic ingredient for Plumberry while still writing her own recipe for happiness ? 

This book really appealed to me as I am a Food Technician in a Secondary school, so I assist the students when they are cooking. This book gave me lots of ideas for work.

The storyline flowed really well, there was never a dull moment and there were a couple of shocking moments. I loved all the innuendos within the story.

The characters were full of life and so down to earth. Even though Mimi was no longer around she was so well remembered (described) that you will feel like you know her just as well as the other characters. Whenever I read about Tom I envisioned Gino D’Acampo, a very good looking and passionate chef. Tom seemed a little too serious until Verity worked her magic on him, teaching him how to have fun whilst cooking. Life is too short to take anything too serious ! Verity comes across as a very strong-willed lady who sees the positive in everything, I really liked Verity. She really inspired me to try new things within the kitchen at home and at work.

A delicious, feel good , mouth watering book perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Debbie Johnson & Jenny Colgan.