All That She Can See by Carrie Hope Fletcher

image

Cherry has a hidden talent. She can see things other people can’t and she decided a long time ago to use this skill to help others. As far as the rest of the town is concerned she’s simply the kind-hearted young woman who runs the local bakery, but in private she uses her gift to add something special to her cakes so that after just one mouthful the townspeople start to feel better about their lives. They don’t know why they’re drawn to Cherry’s bakery – they just know that they’re safe there and that’s how Cherry likes it. She can help them in secret and no one will ever need to know the truth behind her gift.

And then Chase turns up and threatens to undo all the good Cherry has done. Because it turns out she’s not the only one who can see what she sees ….

My Review

A truly magical story – perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern.

This story really reached out to me. I suffer with anxiety, and this story made me look at my anxiety in a different light. I once read an article about ‘making friends with anxiety’ and I remember thinking how stupid, my anxiety is my worst enemy but after reading this and how Cherry coped with her feelings, it made me see my anxiety in a different perspective, the whole ‘fight or flight’ theory became clearer to me. It made me realise my anxiety is part of me and I suppose it always will be – I just need to find a way to balance my life out.

I loved how Cherry described how emotions tasted, I thought this was very clever.

At times I felt like I was reading a grown up version of the Disney Pixar film ‘Inside Out’. I feel this story would make an excellent Netflix series that would blow ’13 Reasons Why’ and ‘Stranger Things’ out the water.

This book would suit the young adult genre, I will be recommending it to the Secondary School Library where I work.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

