Evie’s Year of Taking Chances by Christie Barlow

BFF5F7A2-43ED-4EE2-8BC8-6AE06E2F4A3E

Book Description 

Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books – after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own. Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the start of new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother. Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones.Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past. As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her real mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken?

My Review 

I have a confession to make ….. this story had been on my kindle for over a year and now upon reading it, I wish I’d read it sooner ! 

I felt a connection with Evie from the start, she’s a bookworm like myself and she’s partial to cake !! Well reading and baking are my hobbies (baking is slightly more than a hobby, I have my own cake making business.)Evie came across very down to earth and lovable, I wish I had a friend like her !

  I did guess one part of the story but I was left with my jaw hanging at the end ! What a shocker but also such a lovely ending, it made me feel all warm-hearted.

I loved it how each chapter was short so it left me saying to myself “one more chapter” a lot. This is a story that will make you think about it when you are not reading it, as I did.  An amazing feel good book, thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for approving me to read this in exchange for a honest review.

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Book Review : The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans

8E3FC55E-07F8-4DC4-99D4-A6082D00CC1E

Book Description. 

Tony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative … adulterous to the core.

They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea – the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.

But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.

My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him … it comes for us all, sooner or later.

This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

My Review

This story is just as beautiful as it’s front cover !

This story had me mesmerised, it was so beautifully written, the style of writing was perfect for the story.

I really enjoyed how every few chapters went from past to present. Sometimes when this happens in a book I get very confused by what’s going on. Yet with this story, when I was reading about a part that was set in the past I found myself wanting to read about the present yet when the story switched to the present I wanted to be back in the past to find out what was going to happen next.

I disliked Tony Wilde a lot of the time but the more I read about his past, the more I felt sorry for him.

This is a story full of secrets (that will make you gasp), love (that will give you a warm feeling in your heart) and treasured memories (that will make you reminisce your  past).

Thanks to Becky Hunter from Headline Review for sending me an uncorrected proof copy .

 

Book Post !

Today is my youngest child’s 8th birthday but it feels like my birthday – I got Book Post !!!

This book sounds really unique, I’m really looking forward to getting stuck into this one but I didn’t save the Toffee Crisp to eat whilst reading it 🙈

image

Blurb :

This is no ordinary love story and Sam is no typical hero …but he is a hero.

Sam Holloway has survived the worst that life can throw at you. But he’s not really living. His meticulous routines keep everything nice and safe – with just one exception…

Three nights a week, Sam dons his superhero costume and patrols the streets. It makes him feel invincible – but his unlikely heroics are getting him into some sticky, and increasingly dangerous, situations.

Then a girl comes into his life, and his ordered world is thrown into chaos … and now Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to finally take off the mask. 

Doesn’t this sound fantastic, I’m so intrigued just from the blurb ! Thank you to Phoebe Swinburn at Headline for this uncorrected proof.

Friends and Liars by Kaela Coble

6E830A11-715F-464A-A7B4-4F6D866141AC

Description

It has been ten years since Ruby left her hometown behind. Since then she’s built a life away from her recovering alcoholic mother and her first love, Murphy. But when Danny, one of her estranged friends from childhood, commits suicide, guilt draws Ruby back into the tumultuous world she escaped all those years ago.

She’s dreading the funeral – and with good reason. Danny has left a series of envelopes addressed to his former friends. Inside each envelope is a secret about every person in the group. Ruby’s secret is so explosive, she will fight tooth-and-nail to keep it hidden from those she once loved so deeply, even if that means risking everything…

My Review.

Perfect for fans of Nicola Moriarty and Lisa Jewell. I’ve had this book on my tbr pile for nearly a year and now I’ve read it, I really regret not reading sooner !!

Just looking at the cover, I thought that this was going to be a dark psychological thriller but it wasn’t, if anything I felt it was a mixture of romance , suspense and mystery. It just goes to show “Don’t judge a book by its cover!”

The story is told mainly through Ruby and Ally’s perspective, switching from present day to past, which I enjoyed as it helped put all the pieces together.  I was forever wondering throughout the first half of the story “what is causing Ruby to put up her defences?” I preferred Ruby of past days as I felt she wasn’t as hard faced as the Ruby of present day – well up to a certain point !

I really enjoyed everything about this book from the characters to the secrets and finding out what they were. This book had more twists and turns, ups and downs than a rollercoaster and I loved the ride !!

Thanks to Kirsty Doole at Corvus for the arc, sorry it took me so long to read.

I got book post !!!

How excited was I to get home to see not one but two parcels awaiting me ? Even my 9 year old daughter knew what was in them before I’d even picked them up, she said “you got books again mummy?”, to which I replied “yes, don’t tell Daddy!” 😂😂

So a big thank you to Becky Hunter from Headline Books for ‘Letters to  my Daughters’ by the late Emma Hannigan, who once tweeted me to send get well wishes to my mum who had been diagnosed with cancer again ! This book will be treasured and I will add it to my collection that I have put away for my daughter when she is older.

Also a big thank you to Book Minx SJV from Simon and Schuster and Booksandthecity.co.uk for ‘While I Was Sleeping’ by Dani Atkins and the book of previews of upcoming books. I recently read ‘Our Song’ by Dani Atkins, my first book I read by Dani and I absolutely loved it, so I can’t wait to start this one.

I feel like a kid at Christmas when I receive book post so thank you. Now to go put them on my book shelf so dh does not notice.

Sunshine At The Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson

E4C4E1AF-A7AB-46E2-ABAC-78EF59A95A05

Description

My name is Willow Longville. I live in a village called Budbury on the stunning Dorset coast with my mum Lynnie, who sometimes forgets who I am. I’m a waitress at the Comfort Food Café, which is really so much more than a café … it’s my home.

For Willow, the ramshackle café overlooking the beach, together with its warm-hearted community, offers friendship as a daily special and always has a hearty welcome on the
menu. But when a handsome stranger blows in on a warm
spring breeze, Willow soon realises that her quiet country
life will be changed forever.

My Review.

Another book, set in the idyllic place Budbury, that had me wanting to race through it at the same time as savouring every moment. The thing I love about Debbie Johnson’s ‘Comfort Food Cafe’ book series is that she always recaps what has happened so far in a way that makes you feel like you only read the previous book last week but for a reader who is new to the series they could read this as a stand-alone book but I highly recommend the others !

This installatment focuses on Willow and her Mum Lyn, who has Alzheimer’s. I always thought Willow was only about 18-19 because of her carefree manner but then as I was reading this book I realised she acts this way because of having to be the grown up in her house, so she lets her hair down when she can.                        Yet when newbie Tom appears, Willow seemed to mature overnight. Tom comes across as Willow’s anchor, he keeps her grounded. At times Willow’s actions really frustrated me though.

This story highlights the effects of Alzheimer’s on the patient and family. It’s such a cruel disease, that sadly we all know someone who has suffered with it or is suffering , my godmother had it and it was heart breaking to see. This made me relate to the story more.

I hope to read more from Budbury and it’s ever growing population real soon.

Thanks to Netgalley and Harper Impulse for this great read.

I’m Back !!!

So I’ve decided to blog again. I have missed sharing all my recent reads and getting excited over page stats !!

Whilst I’ve been away, my mum beat cancer again which made me realise life is too short to be in a job that weren’t that great and so I left and started my own business ‘Mapes Bakes’ (you can find me on Facebook) I make cakes from home. I love it as it’s my passion and I get to be there for my children oh and read more too 🤓😉

I joined a book group on Facebook, which is great, the people on there are lovely and we even have some authors on there too I.e Gemma Metcalfe (Trust Me , A Mothers Sacrifice) Louise Jenson (The Gift, The Surrogate) Angela Clarke (Follow Me). My TBR pile continues to grow thanks to all the great recommendations on there. I actually need a new book case !!

Right anyway I’m off to choose my next read 📖📖